The Student Room Group

housemate being selfish, what can we do?

I'm in second year of uni and living with 5 other girls. One of the girls I live with is classed as high risk for covid so we have to be extra careful. Yesterday she got very ill and ended up in A&E. Her immune system is compromised atm so if she were to get covid it wouldn't be good.

My other housemate has her bf over every weekend from up North. We told her that he shouldn't come down this weekend because he's coming from a high risk area and its putting her health at risk. She freaked out and stormed off but turns out she still invited him and he's just arrived. Everyone is obviously fuming but its not like we can physically stop him getting in the house. Is there anything we can do? We were thinking about telling the landlord but even then what can he do?
Tell your landlord and see what he says. In this case, your flatmate is brining somebody from a high risk area who isn't part of the household over and that isn't fair at all. Maybe have a flat meeting too to see why she's being such an *******.
Original post by Anonymous
I'm in second year of uni and living with 5 other girls. One of the girls I live with is classed as high risk for covid so we have to be extra careful. Yesterday she got very ill and ended up in A&E. Her immune system is compromised atm so if she were to get covid it wouldn't be good.

My other housemate has her bf over every weekend from up North. We told her that he shouldn't come down this weekend because he's coming from a high risk area and its putting her health at risk. She freaked out and stormed off but turns out she still invited him and he's just arrived. Everyone is obviously fuming but its not like we can physically stop him getting in the house. Is there anything we can do? We were thinking about telling the landlord but even then what can he do?