The Student Room Group

Panicking about Uni

Hi everyone,

Well I'll come out with it straight away. I'm panicking about University.

I think I could make it in, I know I want to, I know the course I want to do but it's just not that simple.

I've been living in different countries for the past few years and so have switched between several academic systems, doing a qualification here, missing another one there.

The end result is I'm a scottish student who has one higher (came in and did a french one in the last 2 weeks) and am now sitting 4 Advanced Highers and a Geography Higher.

That in principle is fine, I can cope with that. The problem lies in the fact that I have just this one chance to get into uni.

Whereas my peers have a comfortable amount of highers sitting behind them and are just taking the Advanced Highers to comfort themselves or are missing one or two qualifications, this is all I have to go on.

I'm worried I will mess this up and never get into uni. If that happens then I'm sunk, I have nowhere else to go.

So what do I do guys? Are there any options?

Thanks...
Reply 1
It depends on what course you want to do at university. Some good universities offer foundation years
Reply 2
I'm applying to do Law.
Reply 3
Did you know that law has one of the highest intakes through clearing.
Reply 4
I didn't know that but I would prefer to be accepted first time.

Are there any particular tactics for getting in?
Reply 5
one hell of a personal statement never hurts

i knew two people at my school, both applying to the same place for the same course and had pretty much the same grade average. but one wrote a brilliant PS and the other's wasn't so great.

one got offered something like CCC and the other BBB just coz of the personal statement
Reply 6
Got a blank piece of paper on my desk just now. No work experience and I want law because it's interesting and pays well.

Not very noble :smile:
Reply 7
Roo82