The Student Room Group
University of Sussex
University of Sussex
Brighton

Students houses, life and life cost in Brighton

Hi guys, I have an offer at Uni of Sussex for a masters degree. I want to learn more about the life, and cost of living in Brighton. Are dormitories cheaper than student houses (planning to rent a room)? Is living in Brighton really as expensive as living in London? How is the daily life in Brighton? Is it easy to find a part-time job?
Hi @Seyms,

Congratulations on recieving your offer from Sussex for a masters degree! I am currently studying an undergraduate at Sussex so I can tell you a bit about living there.

From my experience I would say accomodation on campus is more expensive than student houses. However, this depends on if you need accomodation for the full year or for the academic year. If you are needing accomodation for the full year (12 months) then student houses are the cheaper option! Nevertheless, it might be helpful to look at the accomodation on campus price list which shows the different prices of accomodation available on campus. Also, as you are planning to rent a room I would say the University of Sussex House Hunt Group would also be a good place to start to find a room off of campus as this is where people often find housemates!

I would say that living in Brighton can be as expensive as living in London but there is a wide range of different renting prices with some being cheaper and others being on the more expensive side. In terms of daily life in Brighton, I would say that it is a nice and friendly area with lots to do. I particularly enjoyed shopping in Brighton as there is a lot of independent shops.