The Student Room Group

LSE, UCL or KCL

Hi everyone,

I know there were many threads about this topic here and i've read many of them, however I couldn't find answers that were specific to my dilemma and so I'd like to hear your advice and thoughts.

I was accepted to LSE, UCL and KCL to a postgraduate degree, I am an international student. Following my studies I want to work as a data analyst in a tech company with some kind of focus on society and social impact. The programs I accepted to are:

LSE - MSc in Media and Communications - Data and Society
UCL - MSc in Business Analytics
KCL - MA in Big Data in Culture and Society

So in know that the programs in LSE and KCL are less technical and "practical" and more theoretical than UCL, but from researching and talking with people I understood that LSE is considered to have the "highest" reputation between the 3 and to have a stronger brand name worldwide. On the other hand I've read really bad things on the atmosphere in LSE and the treatment from the university to the students, and that UCL and KCL are much better in the sense.

In terms of the programs themselves I find the one at KCL most interesting but I feel like all programs will be interesting and valuable. So I'm really not sure what to choose, from what I heard most people told me that the brand name is most important in these kind of postgraduate studies and therefore I should go to LSE, even if the course is more theoretical than the others. But I don't know how true that is and if LSE's reputation is in fact so much bigger than the other universities.

Would really appreciate your help and advice! Thanks
Original post by Alongin
Hi everyone,

I know there were many threads about this topic here and i've read many of them, however I couldn't find answers that were specific to my dilemma and so I'd like to hear your advice and thoughts.