The Student Room Group

Estate agent asked for my QUALIFICATIONS?!

Is this normal? I have previously rented through both other estate agents and private landlords and never once been asked for this. I politely emailed requesting a viewing and was asked not only the standard things (where I work etc.) but also my education and qualifications. I found it quite bizarre. :eyebrow:

I actually do hold a Law degree from a Russell Group and work at a very "traditional" British company, but I think it's incredibly rude/weird to ask for a prospective renter's qualifications, especially in response to a polite enquiry about wanting to view (where I already stated which area I work in and made it obvious I was a working professional). Checking back, the ad says "We choose carefully to ensure a harmonious household. Our tenants typically have a degree" but it just comes off as very strange. :lol:

Of course credit checks, referencing etc. are part and parcel of the renting process and having dealt with previous problem housemates (many of whom have more degrees than I do!) I can completely see why an agency would want to do checks. But asking for my education/qualifications just seems rude! Has anyone else ever been asked this? This was on a Spare Room ad btw.

Oh, and they also asked to know "where I was from" and randomly listed the education/qualifications and nationality (pointedly stating that everyone else was British) of every current housemate when I did not ask for these details - as well as where they worked. I am British too, but I would certainly not like to move into a house and have my name, education and nationality and workplace given away to EVERY other prospective renter who emailed in asking for a viewing.
Yes, this is quite normal when renting a room in a houseshare or flatshare.
It is usually the housemates that ask these questions during viewings to shortlist the most compatible applicants.
But now so many estate agents are involved in houseshares.