The Student Room Group
Student at University of Edinburgh
University of Edinburgh

Uni of Edinburgh MSc in Data Science VS. KCL MSc in Advanced Cyber Security

Hi all! I'm choosing between 2 fully online master's degrees: Edinburgh's MSc in Data Science, Technology and Innovation or King's College London's MSc in Advanced Cyber Security.

Edinburgh MSc has a dissertation component while KCL option is all modules only.

The cost is about the same. I'm a working professional now (previously earned my BA from Warwick and then a MSc from Durham). While employed, I'm thinking of pursuing a second master's degree from either one of these two options. I'm Canadian so my focus is choosing the school with the best international reputation and prestige (i.e. because many UK universities are only renowned within the UK, such as Durham, which while somewhat prestigious in the UK is unknown in Europe, USA and Canada). Any advice which is better from the above 2 options? Which School has the better Informatics/Computing department?
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by A_great_day!
Hi all! I'm choosing between 2 fully online master's degrees: Edinburgh's MSc in Data Science, Technology and Innovation or King's College London's MSc in Advanced Cyber Security.

Edinburgh MSc has a dissertation component while KCL option is all modules only.

The cost is about the same. I'm a working professional now (previously earned my BA from Warwick and then a MSc from Durham). While employed, I'm thinking of pursuing a second master's degree from either one of these two options. I'm Canadian so my focus is choosing the school with the best international reputation and prestige (i.e. because many UK universities are only renowned within the UK, such as Durham, which while somewhat prestigious in the UK is unknown in Europe, USA and Canada). Any advice which is better from the above 2 options? Which School has the better Informatics/Computing department?