The Student Room Group

Animation… where do I start?

I graduated from university back in 2018 and after a couple years of soul searching I’ve realised that I would really like to get into animation as a career if at all possible. Looking into it I would really like to get into character design or concept artist or along them lines.
I have no idea where to start or where to look for evening courses. I can’t go back to university as my funds are limited. I am from Stoke on Trent so something along near there (Staffordshire area) or online. If anyone has any advice or websites they can offer I would be very grateful.
Staffordshire university have some very good course animation related. I think you can try to apply for MA.
Reply 2
Would I be able to apply for a masters in animation even though I didn’t do animation for my subject for my BA Hons? Probably a stupid question just not sure how it works
Original post by ShanC
I graduated from university back in 2018 and after a couple years of soul searching I’ve realised that I would really like to get into animation as a career if at all possible. Looking into it I would really like to get into character design or concept artist or along them lines.
I have no idea where to start or where to look for evening courses. I can’t go back to university as my funds are limited. I am from Stoke on Trent so something along near there (Staffordshire area) or online. If anyone has any advice or websites they can offer I would be very grateful.

Hi @ShanC,

I would highly recommend checking out ScreenSkills! This website is great to find out everything you need to know about getting into the Animation Industry. Here is their page about being a Character Designer or a Concept Artist.