The Student Room Group

How do I afford to live at uni???

I've been given an unconditional offer at Brighton and I was over the moon at first, but then I used the student finance calculator and it's saying I'm entitled to a £9k maintenance loan. The cheapest accommodation there is £166 a week, that's £664 a month, almost £8k a year. How do I feed myself? How the f**k do I live on £1k a year? I'm from a low-income family, I can't work due to disability reasons, I already get Universal Credit but I doubt I'd be able to afford to live still, let alone live comfortably. I don't know what to do, please help!

I would like to stress that I'm totally new to all of this and all the processes I have to go through to apply, UCAS alone was confusing to me. I don't know the reality of living at university yet so please be kind and offer any advice you can!
(edited 1 year ago)
Have you contacted Brighton to find out what support they offer? There may be bursaries, scholarships and aid available.

There’s also grants from charities you can sometimes apply for, might be worth speaking to a tutor at college if not the University student union directly for help. You won’t be the only person in the situation they’ll have dealt with it before.

If you are able there’s also part time work while you are studying you could do to help
Reply 2
I've been out of work for a while, basically mental health issues and my experience working there left me feeling dreadful haha, I could consider it but only as a last resort because it'd take a lot for me to get back into work as of right now.

Brighton offers one bursary that I might be eligible for, £500 at the start of each year. Not much when you add everything up, but it'd definitely help.

I'll ring Brighton tomorrow, feels like I'll get better help if I speak to them over the phone rather than email. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by pajamaland