The Student Room Group

How to revise GCSE English lit in a month & how to impove essay writing skills ?

I'm really bad at English literature and i need a 6 to get into the sixth form i want to get into. i have done some revision for it but not enough, i half know all the texts i'm studying (an inspector calls, romeo and juliet and frankenstein) and i don't really know any of the poems. I don't know many quotes, and I don't know how to approach learning quotes as I don't really feel I have time to spend ages going through the texts, picking them out and condensing it down to just a couple that cover loads of themes/characters etc (given its now only just over a month til exams start). This might also sound a bit stupid but I don't understand how to plan and structure essays either, I always get told by my teacher I don't analyse quotes or whatever textual references I'm using in enough depth but I don't understand how to get better at this? I can analyse to an extent and apply a bit of context but after that I just get stuck. I have actually been told by my teacher that my writing is about a grade 6 level, but because i get stuck i write really slowly and never finish on time which brings me down to a 5 (I usually manage an introduction and 2 main ideas as well as sometimes a conclusion in the time given, bearing in mind I already have extra time). If anyone knows of any detailed essay structures/plans (something like the PEEL structure is too vague for me), revision resources or just any advice would be very much appreciatedl. Thank you!
(edited 1 year ago)
Hello,
Can't say I'm an expert but I'll say what I think I know from A Level English Lit. Most of this focuses around Frankenstein, because it's the text that I am most familiar with. Don't stress too much - I hope it goes well!