The Student Room Group

Lonely at University

I am in my first year of university at Lancaster and I have had bumps especially at the start of the first term where I was almost sure I was going to drop out. However, I started enjoying it a lot more and whether that is to making more friends, enjoying the social life, or finding some commitment to the course.

I have just come back from my Easter holiday and I am back in student accommodation. I came back yesterday and I just feel lost and so alone. I just feel so isolated, I'm not too sure whether this is just simply down to being used to being at home with my mum and my brother (and my dog) or if it is down to me realising maybe uni isn't right for me?

If I'm completely honest, I just feel scared of what is to come such as exams, and then placement next year. I feel a bit trapped as I have put down a deposit for a student house next year and I don't know if id be able to get out of it if I did decide to drop out.

I just don't really know what to do, I just feel so alone even when I'm with my uni friends and I don't feel like that at home. Im 20 and I feel stupid saying it, but I miss my mum. I miss waking up and going downstairs everyday to talk to her. It just doesn't feel the same in university and I just don't feel happy at the moment.
Yep, the honeymoon first semester is gone now and normal uni life is hitting you. Its hard to leave your loved ones and come back to hard work. You can always Facetime your mum in the morning to get some connection with what you are familiar with. Dont drop out - you will regret it later in life.

This is the new 'normal' just takes time to accept the change and adjust.
Original post by AcidyHour