The Student Room Group

Serious Money Problems

So, I’m a postgrad student who is coming to the end of their degree at uni in one of the big UK Cities (I am originally from the rural South-West), great right?

Well this year, paying for accommodation and paying for my course has financially ruined me, I have maxed out two overdrafts, I am working part time but it is nowhere near enough to live off and pay my overdrafts off at the same time

I am looking to start my career asap but I intend to stay here in the city as back home there is just not the opportunity for the line of work I want to get into, but I just feel like I’m in a financial mess before I have even began my career and my only option is to take out a high interest loan which I will end up paying back for years

It’s really affecting my mental health and I spend most of my nights tossing and turning in bed about financial worries - any advice is appreciated
Hey,

I can understand how challenging it must be to face financial difficulties while pursuing your postgraduate degree. It's not uncommon for students to experience financial strain during this phase of their education. The cost of accommodation and course fees can add up quickly, especially in big cities.

It's good that you're determined to start your career in the city where you have better opportunities. However, the burden of debt and financial worries can certainly take a toll on your mental health. It's important to prioritize your well-being during this time.

One option you mentioned is taking out a high-interest loan, but it's essential to carefully consider the long-term consequences and evaluate if it's the best solution for your situation. Before resorting to loans, it might be worth exploring other avenues to improve your financial situation. Here are a few suggestions: