The Student Room Group

Proof of address for NatWest student bank account?

I can't send a student finance letter cause I haven't had one - probably can't get one until I actually have a student bank account to pay the money into.

I can't use a university letter - I emailed and they said it's all paperless now but they might be sending an enrolment letter much closer to course start date which isn't helpful to me rn

I asked UCAS and they said the same thing apparently they don't send letters anymore. I tried taking a picture of the digital letter they sent and NatWest rejected that as proof of address

The other options are some Scottish thing which doesn't apply to me and another option which I'm sure is only a thing for students fresh out of college - whereas I'm a mature student and I don't have any college correspondence to my new address.

I'm just not sure what to do at this point. I spent 45 minutes trying to get through to NatWest live chat and the guy just repeated the listed options and would not respond otherwise.

Anyone else had this issue? Is proof of address something you have to give to every bank for a student account or is it just NatWest being nitpicky?
Reply 1
Original post by spicysosig
I can't send a student finance letter cause I haven't had one - probably can't get one until I actually have a student bank account to pay the money into.

I can't use a university letter - I emailed and they said it's all paperless now but they might be sending an enrolment letter much closer to course start date which isn't helpful to me rn

I asked UCAS and they said the same thing apparently they don't send letters anymore. I tried taking a picture of the digital letter they sent and NatWest rejected that as proof of address