The Student Room Group

Feeling a bit lost/lacking direction going into 2nd year of uni

Just finished my first year at Reading Uni and while it did have good moments, on the whole I found it tough to make a strong group of friends and I applied to return to halls individually for next year. Hopefully will get a better bunch of new flatmates, but I’ve generally being feeling lonely, frustrated and lost during the year. Struggled to find my kind of people or things to do, eg with societies I tried some out but just drifted away from them. Didn’t really feel clubbing was for me but at the same time didn’t have much friends to go
with so didn’t get much experience with that either and just ended up being trapped with my thoughts in my room a lot of the time. Also im an international student from Kenya so it’s hard to find a real sense of belonging here. Any advice to make my second year more meaningful/enjoyable would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Original post by Anonymous
Just finished my first year at Reading Uni and while it did have good moments, on the whole I found it tough to make a strong group of friends and I applied to return to halls individually for next year. Hopefully will get a better bunch of new flatmates, but I’ve generally being feeling lonely, frustrated and lost during the year. Struggled to find my kind of people or things to do, eg with societies I tried some out but just drifted away from them. Didn’t really feel clubbing was for me but at the same time didn’t have much friends to go
with so didn’t get much experience with that either and just ended up being trapped with my thoughts in my room a lot of the time. Also im an international student from Kenya so it’s hard to find a real sense of belonging here. Any advice to make my second year more meaningful/enjoyable would be greatly appreciated. Thanks