The Student Room Group

Mom wants me to apply to Cambridge, I want to apply to Oxford

Hi, I'm a year 12 student going into yr 13 in Sept So I've wanted to apply to Oxford for med for a really long time, it's a goal I've really been working towards and I went to Oxford open day back in june and loved it. I did my ucat in late July and did really well so, my uni choices have been decided for quite a while now and I was feeling really sure of myself and confident. Out of nowhere my mom says that she wants me to apply to Cambridge instead, that she doesn't think I'll be happy at Oxford and that Cambridge takes in more students anyway. I told her that it would be really difficult for me to switch now because I've been so set on Oxford for a while, and asked if we could visit Cambridge but she says that we don't need to visit it to make a decision. I really don't want to apply to Cambridge, especially because I spoke to my ucas advisor before the summer and we discussed my uni choices. And there is literally no reason for me switching other than because my mom said so?? I'm not really sure what to do. Thanks in advance for any advice x
You're right to not change your decision because of one person's opinion, particularly if your mum hasn't attended either.

What I would do is choose one and attend their open day on Friday 15th September (because they have the same open day), and watch videos of people's experiences at the other one. Cambridge would be good to visit, considering you've already learnt a lot about Oxford. You should book the open day soon if you decide to go.

If it doesn't appeal to you, then you can forget about it and have a reason for doing so. If it does, then you can explore it further if you so wish.
If you got into either that'd be amazing.
Reply 3