The Student Room Group

Leaving big 4 before qualifying - what job now?

Hi guys,

Just looking for some advice as I’m looking to leave a big 4 firm without passing the CA qualification.

I’ve realised audit is not what I enjoy, nor the incredible amount of stress balancing studying and working long hours every day, essentially having no life.

As I entered the Big 4 straight after graduating university (BA Hons in accountancy & business) I am unsure what job I could move into.

Does anyone have any ideas of what roles people like myself may move into without having the qualification?

I have 3 years audit experience however it’s not something I enjoy and not something I could see myself pursuing a career in. Does anyone have any recommendations of roles I might be able to apply for that aren’t audit?

I’m also conscious that I wouldn’t like to take a pay drop at this current moment in time so also looking for a job/role paying upward of 32k (there or their abouts). Money isn’t everything but given I’m 3 years into my career it’s not something I’d like to take a drop in.

Any help would really be appreciated!
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by usrrnaamee5
Hi guys,

Just looking for some advice as I’m looking to leave a big 4 firm without passing the CA qualification.

I’ve realised audit is not what I enjoy, nor the incredible amount of stress balancing studying and working long hours every day, essentially having no life.

As I entered the Big 4 straight after graduating university (BA Hons in accountancy & business) I am unsure what job I could move into.

Does anyone have any ideas of what roles people like myself may move into without having the qualification?

I have 3 years audit experience however it’s not something I enjoy and not something I could see myself pursuing a career in. Does anyone have any recommendations of roles I might be able to apply for that aren’t audit?