The Student Room Group

Mature Student needing advice about what to study

Hi,

I'm a mature student who's 26 and I'm looking to get back in to education as I've realised the mistakes I made when I was younger not taking my education seriously and right now my career and income potential is very limited.

I've been confused as to what uni and degree to apply for as I need to make a decision very soon in the next few days as I'm planning to redo a maths and english GCSE and my a levels, although I haven't decided what subjects to choose as I'm confused as to what path I should take.

I wanted to try dentistry but the UCAT deadline passed me, and then there was Law but I've had doubts about it as if you don't make it to the top the lifestyle and pay isn't great I've heard. The only other good career options seemed like Computer science or finance/accounting/economics, but I've had doubts about computer science as I've heard there is age discrimination starting from 35 and they prefer younger people for jobs and I won't graduate until I'm 30 so I'm not sure if I'll be able to last long term in this field.

I'm also so conflicted as to which unis to apply for as I want to go to the best ones and the best career prospect opportunity's but I want to be realistic where I will actually have a chance to get in to.

I was thinking of Imperial College London, UCL, Warwick, Nottingham as some of the university's I wanted to apply for, But I'm not sure a mature students retaking a levels and a couple of GCSE would have a chance as I've heard competition is ferocious.

Can somebody please help and give some advice as time is running out and I'm still conflicted and confused as to what to do?

Scroll to see replies

Unsure what to say because you are considering so many different options. Finding a balance between something that genuinely interests you and career prospects is the key, in my opinion. Which, if any, of the subjects you mentioned do you enjoy?