The Student Room Group

Advice from current/past mature students

Hi all,

29 year old university newbie here! I have a question regarding the acceptance/rejection process for a mature student. I completed my A-Levels back in 2012 and don’t meet the current grades the course requires. I do however, have 5 years direct experience in the field of my prospective degree. It will obviously be up to the university and I will email them separately as to whether this is something they would consider.
I was hoping someone could shed some light on how it works when you are not awaiting A-Level results. Do you still wait until August to find out whether you have been accepted or is the decision expedited due to them having all the information needed?

Any information/tips on the process as a whole would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you in advance!
(edited 5 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by Sops.tay
Hi all,

29 year old university newbie here! I have a question regarding the acceptance/rejection process for a mature student. I completed my A-Levels back in 2012 and don’t meet the current grades the course requires. I do however, have 5 years direct experience in the field of my prospective degree. It will obviously be up to the university and I will email them separately as to whether this is something they would consider.
I was hoping someone could shed some light on how it works when you are not awaiting A-Level results. Do you still wait until August to find out whether you have been accepted or is the decision expedited due to them having all the information needed?

Any information/tips on the process as a whole would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you in advance!

My advice would be to email the admissions teams of the universities you are interested in and ask them. Anecdotally, I would say the more competitive the University / course, the more likely they are going to want to see evidence of recent study.