The Student Room Group

Is it worth doing a PhD?

I'm a student ambassador at my university and this weekend I was working with one of my lecturers for an open-day event. We were talking as colleagues and she revealed that academics rarely get time off. She said she rarely gets a weekend where she can spend time with her wife and their twins as she's mostly working and it's the same for other academics.

I've always wanted to do a PhD and since I was a kid I always wanted to work at the university I'm attending but now since I found out that academics rarely get a weekend off I can't help but question if a PhD is something I really want to do.
Reply 1
Original post by dumb01
I'm a student ambassador at my university and this weekend I was working with one of my lecturers for an open-day event. We were talking as colleagues and she revealed that academics rarely get time off. She said she rarely gets a weekend where she can spend time with her wife and their twins as she's mostly working and it's the same for other academics.

I've always wanted to do a PhD and since I was a kid I always wanted to work at the university I'm attending but now since I found out that academics rarely get a weekend off I can't help but question if a PhD is something I really want to do.

The question you need to ask yourself is, do you need a PhD to do a role you want? Doing a PhD is very tough and not required for most jobs/careers. What role are you considering, an lecturer etc? You are at undegrad level I am guessing, don't make too many plans too early. Most people change their minds as they continue on their journey.

Like any job, some environments/unis are worse than others in terms of pressures etc. Also, you have a small sample of 1 here, just because your lecturer works crazy hours does not mean others do also.

Regardless of what I have said, academia is well known for being poor in supporting and valuing lecturers, hence lost of strikes and news worthy difficulties.

Greg