The Student Room Group
Mappin Building
University of Sheffield
Sheffield

Advice on Applications from a current University of Sheffield Student

Hi Everyone!
My name is Sofia, and I am currently a 3rd Year Biochemistry student at the University of Sheffield. I know that a lot of people are currently busy working hard on applications for university. Please feel free to ask me any questions about the application process or about university life in general.
Good luck,
Sofia
Hi sofia
I have a question. How much training have you had on the application process?
Mappin Building
University of Sheffield
Sheffield
Can I just ask how much weight do Sheffield place on the personal statement? Like do they check if you meet entry reqs first then if it's you Vs another candidate then they compare personal statements or do they check personal statements first then pick the ones they like and check if it meets entry. Basically how important is the personal statement
Original post by shadowblades
Can I just ask how much weight do Sheffield place on the personal statement? Like do they check if you meet entry reqs first then if it's you Vs another candidate then they compare personal statements or do they check personal statements first then pick the ones they like and check if it meets entry. Basically how important is the personal statement

Hi shadowblades,