The Student Room Group

Good career prospects

Hi, I'm a mature student who's looking to boost his career prospects, when I look at careers and average salary's most of them even the good ones seem so low like 35k-50k? What can you expect if you go in to a career after uni from a top or decent uni and good course, Do you need to go to a top prestigious russell group uni to attain a top salary or even go on to make 6 figures?
Reply 1
Which careers and average salaries are you looking at? What do you mean by 'a good course'?

"Do you need to go to a top prestigious russell group uni to attain a top salary or even go on to make 6 figures?"

No - and most people from higher ranking universities don't ever earn that amount.
Say if you did Computer Science at KCL or even at Leicester, or say Finance/accounting or economics at Nottingham/KCL?UCL or a top uni what would i be looking to earn realistically?
Reply 3
Original post by maturestudent09
Say if you did Computer Science at KCL or even at Leicester, or say Finance/accounting or economics at Nottingham/KCL?UCL or a top uni what would i be looking to earn realistically?

Well - you could look at salary surveys split by quartiles and sex for each course and get an idea. It makes a huge difference which part of the country you are in. For some of the top paid jobs A level scores can matter for admission which can complicate comparisons.

UCL economics probably stands out among the courses you have noted. Still - you need to be the right type of person to get into the better paid areas top economics grads target. Plus - not sure how mature you are. That might make a difference.
Reply 4
Original post by maturestudent09