The Student Room Group

Sheffield vs cardiff vs bristol

I was wondering if anyone can give me any insight on each other cities and housing prices, accommodations etc
Bristol is the most expensive for living expenses and Cardiff is the cheapest. All are great cities and wonderful universities.
Reply 2
As cities I would go for Sheffield or Cardiff as Bristol is expensive.
Sheffield is a fun place to be a student.
Can't comment on Cardiff in that way.
Reply 3
Bristol is expensive and has ongoing student accommodation issues.
Cardiff and Sheffield are both sensible Unis in interesting cities with lots to do.
Have a look at the 'tourist' films and open day films on YouTube - or go and visit if you can.
Original post by Anonymous #1
I was wondering if anyone can give me any insight on each other cities and housing prices, accommodations etc

Hi there,

As a Hallam student, I can give you some insight on what Sheffield is like as a city!

For accomodation, it depends whether you are thinking of going to Hallam or uni of. Both have good accommodation options which range in price. My first year halls cost £109 a week and was very close to uni/the train station and for Hallam the most expensive is around £160 ish per week depending on what room you would like. As far as I know, the Uni of options are close to uni too! :smile:

For houses, I am staying on Ecclesall road next year and it's around £120 per week with bills included. It's a great street to live on with bars, pubs and plenty of places to eat. It depends on how many bedrooms/bathrooms and how close it is to each uni but mine is a 5 bed house and I think our cheapest option was around £109 with bills and most expensive £135, so overall it's not too expensive.