The Student Room Group

im feeling lost and hopeless for my future

okay, this might be long, so i truly appreciate anyone willing to give advice and i am very sorry if ive wasted anyones time.

im 17, i turn 18 this year (2024). i started college last year, despite not wanting to, because i had just moved to a whole new area and couldnt find work.

since i was 13, i have severely suffered in an academic environment. i am extremely intelligent academically, but suffered in grades and attendence due to debilitating mental illness. i had a psychotic break in october of 2022, when i was in year 11, and it was deemed by my school and others that it was safer for me and the people around me if i studied at home and did my GCSEs in a private area at school. issue is, i was promised online work and did not receive it until 2 weeks before my GCSEs. that coupled with my lack of attendance meant i was quite literally guessing theoughout my exams. i managed to pass all my core subjects with 4s, and i was higher tier.

then, when i applied for college, i could not apply for the a-levels due to my gcses. i asked to re-do my gcses, they said no, and i had no choice but to pick two BTEC subjects i didnt even want to do and join a college i never even wanted to go to.