The Student Room Group

Projects for application

Hey, so I applied to do the EPQ but unfortunately my college didn't let me do it (too many people) so I was wondering what other things I can do if I want to apply to universities like Bath, Exeter and Manchester etc- all fairly good universities.

I can't do any residentials over the summer as I am visiting family but any projects I can do or activities that would help my application would be great. I am already doing a couple MOOCs so I feel I need something else to add. I don't really know what course I want to do yet but I am studying A-level law, politics and psychology- though I don't mind if it relates to a different subject as I am open to anything.
(edited 3 months ago)
Original post by please help me x
Hey, so I applied to do the EPQ but unfortunately my college didn't let me do it (too many people) so I was wondering what other things I can do if I want to apply to universities like Bath, Exeter and Manchester etc- all fairly good universities.

I can't do any residentials over the summer as I am visiting family but any projects I can do or activities that would help my application would be great. I am already doing a couple MOOCs so I feel I need something else to add. I don't really know what course I want to do yet but I am studying A-level law, politics and psychology- though I don't mind if it relates to a different subject as I am open to anything.

You don't really need to do an EPQ. For most degrees, extra activities are nice things you can do but by no means essential, so focus first on the essential - get your predicted grades as high as possible and decide what subject you want to apply to so you can read about it and write a good personal statement that reflects that you know what you're going into, and then do other things if you can. That will vary based on the subject, although for most subjects there's really very little extra activities you can do!
Original post by please help me x