The Student Room Group

Geography vs Economics A level choices

My other subjects are Physics, Maths & further maths. I would probably want to do an engineering/physics degree at uni, maybe econ, definitely not geography, but more because of job prospects rather than interests. Here are the pros and cons as I see it, please give any advice or thoughts if you are a student of either, or just any comments.

Econ:
+Might want to do econ at uni - would help me do it, or at least decide whether i want to do econ at uni at all
+Seems to be more respected

- Could be boring
- Risk - I've never done econ before, but I'm good at and like geography

Geography:
+I already know I like it and am good at it (8 in gcse mocks)
+Seems more interesting to me
+Facillitating

- Not sure how i would do with the NEA
- Softer subject (?)
- Not relevant to a degree i would want to do

Basically, I feel I want to do geography, but i feel i should do economics. If i could choose to have an A* in either instantly i would choose economics, if i had to choose purely based on interest i would choose geography. But i do prefer human geography to physical so maybe i would like econ?
Sorry you've not had any responses about this. :frown: Are you sure you've posted in the right place? :smile: Here's a link to our subject forum which should help get you more responses if you post there. :redface:
Original post by ethantoal
My other subjects are Physics, Maths & further maths. I would probably want to do an engineering/physics degree at uni, maybe econ, definitely not geography, but more because of job prospects rather than interests. Here are the pros and cons as I see it, please give any advice or thoughts if you are a student of either, or just any comments.

Econ:
+Might want to do econ at uni - would help me do it, or at least decide whether i want to do econ at uni at all

- Could be boring

Geography:
+Facillitating

- Softer subject (?)