The Student Room Group

Are my grades too low for a funded PhD in UK?

I got a first class in my bachelor's (76) at Imperial and continued to do a MRes in cancer biology at Imperial. However, I did not do well in my research projects and only managed a merit (60.5).

I have been applying for a little more than a year for a funded PhD and have had no interviews. I wonder if I am asking too much with my grades, even though most PhDs do not specify masters grades or only ask for merit and above.
Reply 1
Realistically, yes. It is not impossible, but you will be competing with people who have 80+ in their undergrads and probably the same again at Master's. That your performance suffered specifically in research projects is also a barrier.

This makes it really quite difficult to get initial funding. You can apply every year, however, and if your project has legs etc than there is a marginal chance that you can gain funding in subsequent years.
(edited 2 months ago)
Reply 2
Thank you for your insight, is there another way that I can achieve a funded PhD position? I am an international student which makes funding my degree much more difficult. I am thinking of either doing another Master's or looking for RA/technician jobs.

Any suggestions are most welcome.
Reply 3
Original post by CHENB
Thank you for your insight, is there another way that I can achieve a funded PhD position? I am an international student which makes funding my degree much more difficult. I am thinking of either doing another Master's or looking for RA/technician jobs.

Any suggestions are most welcome.

I can't realistically comment on your chances as I know the cancer research field is highly competitive and I don't come from that educational background.