The Student Room Group

Second Year Primary Education student - don't want to do course anymore

Hey everyone,

I am a second-year student studying Primary Education. I'm feeling so burnt-out after completing my teaching placement for the last month. I have to take a 30 minute bus to school at 7.30 in the morning to get there for 8. At the moment, teaching 8 lessons and feel so stressed out. It takes so long to plan lessons and then having to spend my lunch break printing out resources. Sometimes, skipping lunch to do this. At the end of the day, I have to mark so many books. In addition, I have to so much behaviour management to deal with as quite a few SEN kids in my class. Then the bus is so irregular, it takes even longer to get home. I'm planning lessons at night and not getting enough sleep as so exhausted after placement living off 3 hours sleep. I feel so stressed and I don't know what to do. I like the teaching bit and working with kids. But I struggle so much with time-management and I don't think I will be able to cope as a teacher with a class of 30 kids and 5 lessons each day. I am in my second year and it's too late to change degrees. I also struggle to do my assignments, leaving it until last minute to do them frequently. I have a feeling I may have ADHD but not been to a professional about it yet. I also have no idea what else I could do. Is there anything else you can do with a primary education degree other than be a teacher? Is there anyone in this situation? Or if you can offer any advice I would appreciate it.
Original post by sashadivachic
Hey everyone,