The Student Room Group

Cardiff or Surrey for Undergrad Bsc Computer Science

Hello,

Im a mature student, 22, and planning to study computer science. I did my Alevel in 2019 in Mathematics, Computer Science and Physics... grade ABB respectively.

While looking at universities, Surrey and Cardiff are good options ive found that have an ABB entry requirement but i want to know which is better for comp sci.

I dont really care much about night life/clubbing and my main priority would be to go to the acedemically superior uni that helps me in understanding the subject and finding a better job.

Does russell group unis really matter in the case of cardiff or is surrey better.

Thanks for any advice guys!
Original post by HanSeaulo
Hello,

Im a mature student, 22, and planning to study computer science. I did my Alevel in 2019 in Mathematics, Computer Science and Physics... grade ABB respectively.

While looking at universities, Surrey and Cardiff are good options ive found that have an ABB entry requirement but i want to know which is better for comp sci.

I dont really care much about night life/clubbing and my main priority would be to go to the acedemically superior uni that helps me in understanding the subject and finding a better job.

Does russell group unis really matter in the case of cardiff or is surrey better.

Thanks for any advice guys!
Hi there!

Happy to hear you're considering Surrey.

Teaching quality and academia depends more on the individual university than which groups it's associated to. There are some excellent Russell Group universities, just as there are equally excellent universities that are not part of the group.

Surrey ranks higher both overall and in computer science specifically in different tables such as Complete University Guide and The Guardian.