The Student Room Group

Part time work

I am currently a student looking for part time work.
What would be the best job to do whilst studying and are there any online jobs I can do to make extra money?
Hi @sarah.fisher19

Usually there are various jobs that can be done on campus which you can fit around your studies. For example, working within the student union or as a student ambassador. Other jobs that are popular amongst students involve tutoring, which can be done through various websites.

There are also part time jobs which are advertised on Indeed and other job boards. This includes part time jobs in hospitality and retail. However, these tend to be harder to get due to the volume of people applying. They also tend to be less flexible with hours. There also casual work available such as working at events such as festivals which are more flexible with hours. Usually these require the person to be a driver so if you have a car this can be worth looking into.

My recommendation would be to look on the university website or on their career portal (if they have one) to see if they have any guidance. Usually they advertise jobs and internships in the local area. If you can't find information, it might be worth reaching out to the university as they would usually have advice on this.

Hope this helps,
Gulcin
2nd Year PPE Student
University of Southampton
Original post by sarah.fisher19
What would be the best job to do whilst studying and are there any online jobs I can do to make extra money?
Hiya!

It’s great to hear that you are looking for a job - I think it is great to get a part time job as a student, as you get to gain some experience, add more to your CV and earn some extra money on the side. All of this is ideal as long as you can also find a job that is accommodating to the student lifestyle i.e not too many hours and / or late nights.