The Student Room Group

Architect choices

I am in my 1st year of a 2 year college course in 3d art & design. I have just completed a weeks work experience at a local architect firm which I really enjoyed.
However I’m not 100% set on uni, I would prefer some kind of apprenticeship, I am looking into civil engineering too.
Are there many degree apprenticeships to get into architecture? I am looking on the gov.uk for apprenticeships to get a rough idea what is out there currently so I know what to expect going forward.
If I do decide to go down the uni route, there are uni courses in London/Essex (I would prefer to travel in to my uni rather than live away) but they are a 3 or 4 year course with placement year, how easy is it to get the placement?
Thanks
Original post by Finb07
I am in my 1st year of a 2 year college course in 3d art & design. I have just completed a weeks work experience at a local architect firm which I really enjoyed.
However I’m not 100% set on uni, I would prefer some kind of apprenticeship, I am looking into civil engineering too.
Are there many degree apprenticeships to get into architecture? I am looking on the gov.uk for apprenticeships to get a rough idea what is out there currently so I know what to expect going forward.
If I do decide to go down the uni route, there are uni courses in London/Essex (I would prefer to travel in to my uni rather than live away) but they are a 3 or 4 year course with placement year, how easy is it to get the placement?
Thanks

There are only two unis that currently offer level 6 architecture apprenticeship training (LSBU and Portsmouth). There is more information on the following RIBA webpage:

https://www.architecture.com/educati...ure-apprentice

It takes seven years or more to qualify as an architect - undergraduate degree (3/4 yrs) followed by a year in practice, then a master degree (2 yrs) followed by another year in practice and a final exam.