The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Davethedavedave
I am a mature student (26) and I am looking at attending university F/T in September 2010 and would like study Engineering.

I am most keen to do Civil/Structural Engineering however while I have AAA in Politics, History and Business Studies I don't have maths.

So I would like to ask anyone that has graduated with a Engineering degree what my chances are of getting on a Civil Engineering course without Maths. I know my ability at Maths is at least as good as A level Maths, however I don't have the qualification to show it. So is there any other way I could demonstrate to universities that I would be fine without A level maths?

If none of the above works out and I cant do Civil Engineering without maths, what other types of Engineering based subjects would be available to me without maths?

Any advice, not matter how honest or harsh would be, by me very much appreciated.

How do you know that your level of maths is as good as A-level standard? What is your current job?

Without an A-level in maths, you could do a 'foundation year'.
Reply 2
If you have work experience for a few years where maths applications were necessary to do the job then that would prove you are at A level maths standard. However, if you just know it then the leading universities for Engineering wont be able to accept you directly. You can always give foundation year a try if thats an option otherwise you will have to go to one of the crappy universities. After all Maths and Physics are a must at most places and you have neither of them. Unless you have some good work experience where you have used a good portion of maths and physics, I doubt many universities will give you a chance without foundation year. I'd advice you to go to an open day or two during the summer and ask the people there what do the think about your qualifications. best of luck