The Student Room Group
Student in the Laboratory, Lancaster University
Lancaster University
Lancaster
Visit website

NUS Card/Purple Card

Right, so I went on the NUS website to order the card.

It redirected me to a LUSU's website to sign up for a "purple card". So do I get a purple card and not an NUS card? Is it possible to get one and not the other? Advice?

Sorry if I'm being retarded. Thanks a lot.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'm fairly sure the Purple Card counts as an NUS card - I've used it to prove I'm a student outside of uni. And you definitely want to get a Purple Card, they're really useful and you can't join societies and other important stuff like that without one. Plus there are often Purple card offers - so your Purple card can get you free stuff or money off in restaurants etc.
Student in the Laboratory, Lancaster University
Lancaster University
Lancaster
Visit website
Reply 2
meandmylies
I'm fairly sure the Purple Card counts as an NUS card - I've used it to prove I'm a student outside of uni. And you definitely want to get a Purple Card, they're really useful and you can't join societies and other important stuff like that without one. Plus there are often Purple card offers - so your Purple card can get you free stuff or money off in restaurants etc.

thanks for the reply. just found this though: "During the on-line signup procedure for a LUSU card you will get the opportunity to purchase an NUS Xtra card. If you order a card, NUS process the order and then post the card directly to you". so they are different things. http://lusu.co.uk/lusucard
The Purplecard is the standard NUS card, but it is specific to Lancaster (hence the colour etc)

The NUS Extra card is an extra card that gives you more deals and discounts, such as meal deals in McDonalds and discount on websites like Amazon.. These deals aren't available with a normal NUS card.

Hope that helps :smile:
Reply 4