The Student Room Group

Am I silly to want to go from English to a Fashion degree?

I am currently in my first semester studying English Language at the University of Manchester.

I am already completely bored and uninterested - I have realised that I actually cannot stomach doing this for 3 years, and it is nothing like I expected or even want.

I am really interested in doing a degree in Fashion and Textile Retailing. It's something i've kinda of always have a secret passion for, being creative and learning about the industry, and have always wanted to be in a fashion related job. Not for the 'glamour' - I am not a 'girly airhead who likes shopping etc'. However, I feel like it will be a step down, and people may see me as stupid almost, as ai achieved 4 As at A-Level in tough subjects. And in the current economic climate, wouldn't an English degree give me more job prospects?

I just know that doing my current degree is making me miserable.
Reply 1
If you aren't bhappy doing English then it isn't for you. Not sure about whether you should go to Fashion or not since I know next to nothing about it, but if you've got a pssion for it then that should be a good pointer.

Good luck!
Reply 2
Silly? Not at all. Some people on TSR are bound to say differently, but they'll be the same people who secretly laugh at anyone not doing a BSc. I was in the EXACT same situation as you - started doing English and realised straight away I hated it. So I changed over to Film, which I'm incredibly passionate about, and haven't looked back at all. I got some stick but I'm ten times happier now. At the end of the day, you're going to be spending 3 years doing this subject and get in a lot of debt over it, might as well be happy!
No.
Reply 4
Not silly at all. Fashion is a huge industry, and there are some wonderful jobs that can come after it, aside from just designing.