The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

International Foundation Year (College choice/Progression)

Hi everyone!!

I'm a student from Singapore wanting to enrol into the IFY.. In the IFY Brochure, it lists that it's available at Queen's Campus only. However, I've read some threads here that if I wish to progress into an undergraduate degree course that is being taught at the Durham City campuses, I can do the Foundation Year of that degree programme there (in the Durham City campuses). How true is this?

There may be a difference in IFY and Foundation Year that I do not know of, so please pardon me if I have mistakened!

Another question I have is whether upon completion of the Foundation Year, can I progress on to the second year of a related degree programme? Is there the possibility or non at all even if excellent grades are achieved? I ask mainly because cost will be a problem for me if I have to do a Foundation Year + 3 years for the degree programme.. I didnt see any scholarships that I can be applicable for :frown:

Thanks everyone! And wishing y'all a Happy New Year's in advance!

Natalie
Reply 1
The foundation year is at Queens Campus and not at all in Durham City. If your progression degree is in Durham City then you move there for the degree.

If you are having to do a foundation year then I highly doubt they would accept you onto the 2nd year of a degree course but never say never!
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website
Reply 2
Foundation year is at Queens Campus. You will be there if you do a foundation year. If you wish to progress to a Durham city degree you move there after completion of the foundation degree.