The Student Room Group

Student Finance In Regards to..

A Second Degree!

I have already gained a Degree (which was in Adult Nursing) - Which I completed in 2010. However, I would now like to progress and study Medicine as a Graduate.

I am just wondering what the funding is like?

I know that the 2nd, 3rd and 4th years on the Graduate program - an NHS bursary is available (much like the one i received when I was a student nurse). I did receive financial help from SLC as a student nurse.

Since I currently work fulltime as an Intensive Care Nurse, I earn more than £20,000 a year - So I am currently paying them each month.

Any advice?:smile:

Thanks!
Reply 1
You'd need to pay the fees yourself, but would be entitled to a maintenance loan only from SFE for the full duration.
Reply 2
Original post by Taiko
You'd need to pay the fees yourself, but would be entitled to a maintenance loan only from SFE for the full duration.

No hang on - since medicine is a higher degree, doesn't he get a fee loan on the same terms as anyone else?
Reply 3
No, he doesn't.

ELQ has no effect. What disqualifies from fee support is the fact that someone has a previous honours degree.
Reply 4
Original post by Vinchenko
No hang on - since medicine is a higher degree, doesn't he get a fee loan on the same terms as anyone else?

And further clarification from the 11/12 Assessing Eligibility Guidance, issued by BIS.