The Student Room Group

Maths Masters - Bristol. How can I get a place with my module grades?

Hey everyone, my first post here so please be gentle. Any help at all you give me would be great!

I really want to start a Master's degree in Maths, starting in 2012 at Bristol University. However, I applied to the department and they said my grades in certain modules weren't quite high enough and they couldn't give me a place. This year I'll be starting a Maths PGCE at the very same University of Bristol, so I'm already moved and settled here. I hold a BSc in Maths from Swansea, in the mid-to-low 2:1 percentage overall. Can anyone give me advice for ANYTHING I can do between now and next year that can increase my chances of the department accepting me for a Master's course? Maybe there are some part-time maths courses I could take to increase my knowledge of the new material, or I could assist researchers in the department over the holidays, or maybe I could even do something to present my PGCE in a more relevant light? It seems strange to think I'm taking a postgraduate maths-related course at the very same university and it would count for nothing.

If anyone has any experience or knowledge of what academic admissions people look for, any advice here would be amazing. Thank you very much!
Original post by GabrielH

Hey everyone, my first post here so please be gentle. Any help at all you give me would be great!