The Student Room Group

Further Maths A level - Possible to self teach?

My A level options are maths, history, economics, and for my fourth option i really want to do further maths, but the problem is that i can't do it because history is taking up the periods where further maths lessons are held. You'll all probably be telling me to drop history so I can do FM, but I genuinely enjoy history, and I'm a natural at essay writing, and I'd probably get an A in history without facing much of a challenge. So is it possible to self-teach FM? Do you know anybody who self-taught themselves FM, and got a decent grade (B or above)? If so, any advice on how many hours a day i should spend studying FM?
(edited 12 years ago)
Shame you can't drop Economics since that's a pretty pointless subject to take as A-level.
Original post by Rebellious-Steve

Shame you can't drop Economics since that's a pretty pointless subject to take as A-level.

No not really, seeing as I want to do Bsc Economics.
Reply 3
yes you can self teach yourself.. just do like 1 hour each day :smile: I would suggest finding a tutor as well to help you get started.. specially for fp1 and fp2
Original post by Abir Ishtiaq
No not really, seeing as I want to do Bsc Economics.

Makes little difference, it's still a pointless subject. In the same vein as Law at A-level is useless if you want to do a law degree.
Original post by Abir Ishtiaq