The Student Room Group
University of Manchester
University of Manchester
Manchester

Best postgrad accommodation UoM?

Hi guys,

I'm doing a PGCE starting September and although I have applied for accomodation with manchester uni, because im a British student with a conditional offer, I'm quite unlikely to get my accomodation.

I wondered whats the best thing to do as a postgrad who wants a social life but at the same time wants to be able to work as well. I want to be in the City centre, so was looking at Cosmoplitan on Grafton street, any reviews would be useful/any alternative advice!

Amy :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Yeah, but also £118 a week (in the last academic year). In fact most of the exclusively PG residences are quite expensive, apart from The Firs Villa at the Fallowfield campus (£84 a week on a 51-week let).

Whitworth Park looks good - it's at the City campus, £87 a week, and mixed PG and UG.
University of Manchester
University of Manchester
Manchester
Reply 2
Yeah I did want postgrad only, so I put down Geroge Kenyon standard room, then duluxe and then a mixed undergraduate/postgrad since they keep you seperated anyway.

I'm just not sure on whether to risk waiting until July to see if I get accomodation from Manchester, or take the offer from Cosmopolitan when I get it (as I also applied to them already). I don't know how likely it is Manchester will give me accomodation since I hve a conditional offer, and I'm an EU student...
Reply 3
Original post by amiiness1991
Yeah I did want postgrad only, so I put down Geroge Kenyon standard room, then duluxe and then a mixed undergraduate/postgrad since they keep you seperated anyway.

I'm just not sure on whether to risk waiting until July to see if I get accomodation from Manchester, or take the offer from Cosmopolitan when I get it (as I also applied to them already). I don't know how likely it is Manchester will give me accomodation since I hve a conditional offer, and I'm an EU student...