The Student Room Group

Seriously consider changing/dropping out of uni.

Basically, I am a 2nd year Maths student in Scotland. First year, I was doing Maths with Finance and was fairly enjoying the course but I failed to pass one of the finance modules and subsequently, I had to switch to a full Maths degree. My exams are next week and I truly do think I will fail at least 2 out of the 4 modules, I am just lacking any motivation/love to do this degree.

Has anyone ever switched to a different uni and how well did that go? Also, has anyone dropped out of uni and then rejoined in the later future?
What's the reason for the lack of motivation/love?
Reply 2
Don't. I absolutely guarantee you'll regret it in 10 years time.
Reply 3
Original post by pinda.college
What's the reason for the lack of motivation/love?

Well, other than the change of course (I have always liked finance and was gutted that I couldn't continue it at my current uni) it was just the fact I wasn't enjoying the course. I wasn't enjoying learning about some of the things in my new degree which quite frankly I don't give two tosses about. Probably just doing a pure Mathematics degree is too boring for me.
Reply 4
Original post by Newbie123
Don't. I absolutely guarantee you'll regret it in 10 years time.

Can I ask for your reasoning on that?
Reply 5
I started a maths degree in 2007 and got to the beginning of second year and lost all motivation and love for the subject. I initially transferred university, because I had convinced myself it was the place I was at, rather than the course, that I hated but I quickly realised it wasn't. I dropped out and it was the best thing I could have possibly done. I was affecting my mental health and there was no way I was actually going to make it to the end.

I left, worked for a few years and I've applied to go back to university to study what I should have done first time around.

You need to do what you want to do, not what you think people expect you to do.