The Student Room Group

English Lit AQA, A Level - Gothic

Hi

Is anyone studying specification B on Elements of the Gothic?

I studying Macbeth (Shakespeare), Frankenstein (Shelly), and Dracula (Stoker).

How are you finding it, what are you finding hard/easy.
Do you have any tips on anything?
How are you revising?

Which quotes are you collecting to use in the exam, and why?

HELP!!!!

Thanks

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I ammm :smile:

I'm studying Doctor Faustus, Wuthering Heights and The Bloody Chamber :smile:

Ahhh I am SO jealous of the texts you're doing! Macbeth is my favourite Shakespeare play although I've already studied it, and I really wanted to do Frankenstein :frown:

I'm enjoying A2 a lot more than AS :smile: I'm finding the essay technique easier as it's equally weighted on language, structure, form and context. I guess the main thing that's harder is the fact it's a closed book exam.

For revision, I'm making quotation tables- a table for the following issues:

- Characters
- Themes
- Aspects of The Gothic - e.g. Supernatural, Horror, Gore etc
- Portrayal of Women (If relevant)
- Settings

and making essay plans for past questions. I've not really started revising properly yet though! This is more what I intend to do :smile:
Reply 2
I'm doing Bloody Chamber, Macbeth and Wuthering Heights :smile:
I'm finding Wuthering Heights the hardest, so I'm going through each chapter making notes and doing research on it, then im going to make a poster for the main quotes which to relate to gothic, characterisation, themes of love ect. Quite a long process but i think i will be useful!
Have you tried the york notes? they are really good, especially for the bloody chamber :smile: Good Luck!
Anyone got any ideas what themes could come up in section B?

Posted from TSR Mobile[/S
I'm doing Wuthering Heights, The Bloody Chamber, Macbeth and Frankenstein, as my teacher thought it would be better to study four texts so that we had more choice on questions.