The Student Room Group

is it worth doing engineering?

hi,
i have quite a lot of questions about doing engineering! I'm thinking about applying to do engineering but its quite hard to chose what to do with the rest of my life, if i don't like engineering and i go to do it at uni i would be pretty screwed!
I was wondering how much time does engineering take up (lecture and study time)? Iv been told you have around 24 hours a week without study time! Do you find you have a good amount of time to be with your friends and enjoy a sport or hobby? Another problem is there are pretty much no girls that do engineering :frown:, do you guys have any problems meeting girls? The thing is i don't really enjoy going out clubbing! I understand that there is a lot of lab work also, whats it like? I'm not very good at lab work in physics i got a C and a B in my labs but my theory pulled me up to an A over all. I'm just not good at all that percentage error stuff. Is the lab work similar to physics or completely different and if so how? Did you find engineering fun and stimulating when you did it? or was it a drag each day? The other thing is after you've finished doing an engineering degree is it a 9-5 job or is there loads of over time?
I was so set on doing engineering in-till i went to the surrey open day :frown:, it completely put me off.
does anyone know of any good degrees to do that involve maths, other then a straight maths degree?
thanks for taking the time to read this :smile:
You seem work shy. Why not just sit at home?
I don't know what a girl is