The Student Room Group

A level Maths

First of all, I'm currently a Y12 student and I do A-level psychology, right now I'm thinking of dropping Psychology and taking A-level Maths; I know it's hard and difficult but for those who have prior experience is it worth it ?
Original post by frozen-throng
First of all, I'm currently a Y12 student and I do A-level psychology, right now I'm thinking of dropping Psychology and taking A-level Maths; I know it's hard and difficult but for those who have prior experience is it worth it ?

I like both subjects (and semi studied both), so yeah?

It depends on what you specifically want to do. If you specifically want to do a quantitative degree, then A Level Maths is definitely worth the investment. Qunatitiative subjects include:

Computer science and sotfware engineering

Most economics degrees

Maths and statistics

Some finance degrees, financial mathematics, financial engineering, and actuarial science

Physics (if you have Physics A Level)

Engineering (if you have the appropriate science A Level)

Data science and analysis

A number of healthcare and life science degrees where they accept Maths as a science (usually you would need 2 sciences)

Geology/earth science (if you have another science)

Maths by far is one of the most widely requested subject for degrees, but they tend to be in degrees that do a lot of maths. If you don't intend to do a mathematical degree, then at best it's considered a highly respected A Level.

See the following: https://www.mathscareers.org.uk/degree-courses-a-level-mathematics/

Psychology can sometimes be regarded as a "science" for some science/healthcare degrees, but it's definitely a very loose definition and not very common. Psychology is strictly not a required subject, but the odd uni might ask for it for some psychology degrees. For most psychology degrees, you're fine without it at A Level.