The Student Room Group

Will I get into Med School with only 3 AS subjects

I currenty take maths chemistry and biology at AS level. Im planning on applying to med school(specifically Kings College and Barts). I wanted to do 4 but i really hate physics and there are not many other options in my school. I am an international student btw. So will having only 3 subjects at AS hinder me from getting an admission?
I don't know much about the matter, but I know that Barts operate on UCAS points so the extra AS (up to 60 points) would be crucial due to the competition.
Original post by ekpenyongnsa
I currenty take maths chemistry and biology at AS level. Im planning on applying to med school(specifically Kings College and Barts). I wanted to do 4 but i really hate physics and there are not many other options in my school. I am an international student btw. So will having only 3 subjects at AS hinder me from getting an admission?

The answer quite simply is yes, most if not all unis ask for 4ASs! As an international as well the competition for you is harder so you need the best grades and at least 4 ASs

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
you're an international student. use that to your advantage. do another a level in your native language.
Reply 4

Bart's favours applicants with at least 4 AS Levels due to their points system. :/

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by smd4std
you're an international student. use that to your advantage. do another a level in your native language.

That won't help. Universities usually exclude this from offers precisely because it is too easy.
Reply 6
Original post by smd4std

my native language is not offered in d exam but i can do french...would this be a good decision or do i just have to man up and take physics
Reply 7
Original post by carnationlilyrose
That won't help. Universities usually exclude this from offers precisely because it is too easy.