The Student Room Group
Learning at Imperial College London
Imperial College London
London

M.Sc. Computing Science (for Non-CS grads)

Hey guys,

I'm holding an unconditional offer for Imperial's CS master program (the one for non-CS majors), but I'm a bit worried about the pace and general difficulty of the whole course as I'm relatively unexperienced in programming (just done some basic C++ s far).
What were your experiences with the program, did you enjoy the course and was it quite doable? My background is business economics (so not very scientific). Really looking forward to hear back from you guys, thanks a lot!

Best,
Matthias
Hi Mattias,

I emailed the admissions tutors last year about the course (as I am thinking of applying for it) and they told me that I would find some elements easier as I have extensive programming knowledge. Of course, there will be other people who will be joining you with a lot of CS knowledge and experience, but it is not a prerequisite for the course and therefore will not be assumed; as long as you put the work in you shouldn't fall behind - it just might take you longer than someone else to pick up on things, and debug :P .
Learning at Imperial College London
Imperial College London
London
Original post by MattRaupa
Hey guys,

I'm holding an unconditional offer for Imperial's CS master program (the one for non-CS majors), but I'm a bit worried about the pace and general difficulty of the whole course as I'm relatively unexperienced in programming (just done some basic C++ s far).
What were your experiences with the program, did you enjoy the course and was it quite doable? My background is business economics (so not very scientific). Really looking forward to hear back from you guys, thanks a lot!

Best,
Matthias

Hey!

I will be doing the one for CS majors (advanced computing), and my background is nothing to do with CS either, though I do have quite a bit of programming experience.