The Student Room Group

Need Advice for applying again to Oxford/Cambridge

I am an international student and therefore I don't have the best idea of British universities but my situation is this

I received an interview at Oxford this round, however I did not receive an offer but I have some reason to believe I was close, but I've heard that many people try again next round and succeed. So I would like to know:

-Would it be worth re sitting my international A levels to get better grades?
-Would it be better for me to apply again for Oxford or to Cambridge this time around?
-Do they discriminate against second-timers?
-What personal experience do you guys have of going for a second try?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Try to get interview feedback if you can so you know where you went awry.
Reply 2
- Resitting your A levels probably won't help. It's enough to have AAA (or whatever your subject's offer is).
- Reapply to whichever you prefer, although if your A level scores aren't high, doing well on an Oxford admissions test might be your best bet of getting in.
- Reapplicants aren't discriminated against but it's advisable to apply to a different college than you applied to first time round.
- I got in second time round. The fact I was (re)applying post-A level wasn't brought up in my interviews.
Original post by BJack
- Resitting your A levels probably won't help. It's enough to have AAA (or whatever your subject's offer is).
- Reapply to whichever you prefer, although if your A level scores aren't high, doing well on an Oxford admissions test might be your best bet of getting in.
- Reapplicants aren't discriminated against but it's advisable to apply to a different college than you applied to first time round.
- I got in second time round. The fact I was (re)applying post-A level wasn't brought up in my interviews.

Hi. May I ask what you did to kind of 'make sure' that you get an offer the second time round?
Reply 4