The Student Room Group
Reply 1
It depends on what you want to do in the future. Most of the uni will accept BTEC unless you want to get into, uni like Cambridge, Oxford etc. I have never done A-level before, but I am doing a BTEC level 3 IT course, the work load is pretty intensive as it is equivalent to a level.

The course is quite hands on as well, meaning you in few of the units you have to produce a final product before you can pass, you have to produce something like a photoshoped image, flash animation, website etc.

If Computer Science is what you want to do in uni then do a level maths and physics because most of the course is based on mathematics and theory.

BTEC may also restrict you from doing other courses in uni as well, because most of the time they ask for a relevant BTEC qualifications.

Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by (Brian)
It depends on what you want to do in the future. Most of the uni will accept BTEC unless you want to get into, uni like Cambridge, Oxford etc. I have never done A-level before, but I am doing a BTEC level 3 IT course, the work load is pretty intensive as it is equivalent to a level.

The course is quite hands on as well, meaning you in few of the units you have to produce a final product before you can pass, you have to produce something like a photoshoped image, flash animation, website etc.

If Computer Science is what you want to do in uni then do a level maths and physics because most of the course is based on mathematics and theory.

BTEC may also restrict you from doing other courses in uni as well, because most of the time they ask for a relevant BTEC qualifications.

Posted from TSR Mobile

But if I am doing the BTEC along side the A Levels could I get into the better universities?
Reply 3