The Student Room Group

Stay at Sixth Form or go to College?

Hi:smile: I'm in year 12 and I've just found out my mock grades - they're not good. I've failed them all and I revised for ages and did past exam questions. I know it's only the first part of sixth form but I haven't enjoyed it, I'm having a lot of problems with my friends, there's still so much more to learn for summer exams and my motivation levels have just dropped. I'm awful at exams as it is, I want to move away from the school I've been at for 6 years and meet some new people and become more confident. I only went to sixth form because I was talked into it by my teachers and parents because it was the best place for me and the 'safest' option, I've been around the same people for ages and my life seems to be fairly repetitive. I know that education is important but so is going out and developing new social skills. I want to do midwifery or child nursing and I'm currently studying psychology, biology, RS and health&social. I'm doing some work experience on a midwifery ward in July and further voluntary work. Should I apply to college for Health&Social and go if I don't do well in AS? The last thing I want to do is resit a year of A levels. I hate it. Life is so boring right now and I know that going to college won't necessarily give me the most incredible social life, but I want to be doing something i'll enjoy and have the chance to make new friends. I just really don't want to make the wrong decision. My mom says that I should do something better than health and social care because she thinks thickos study it, but I know that's not exactly true. Please can I have some advice and thank-you so much!