The Student Room Group

SCITT (salary)

Hi all,

I am currently coming to the end of my second year and as a mature student I am thinking about my life in 12 months time. I am fully aware I want to be a primary school teacher however I really want to do it on a salaried route which I hear is available. I currently work 4 days a week with 2 days on placement and 2 days in uni and it is killing me as I cannot remember my last day off. So for my teacher training year I just want to be able to focus on that.

Can anyone give me some advice on achieving a salaried teacher training position?

Thanks
Look for school direct salaried courses.

Do be aware though that for some subjects and degree classes, you can find yourself better off financially on a non-salaried route relying on loans, bursaries, grants and scholarships.
According to an information event I went to, only the courses with the big scholarships (maths/physics/chemistry) work out better to be on the unsalaried route. For primary, you are better off doing the salaried route if you are eligible and can get a place.

I think Primary School Direct places are heavily over subscribed, so you need a really great application to stand a chance of getting one. I am not 100% sure, but I would have thought that most of them go to people who have been working in schools as TAs for years.
Original post by fluffyowl
According to an information event I went to, only the courses with the big scholarships (maths/physics/chemistry) work out better to be on the unsalaried route. For primary, you are better off doing the salaried route if you are eligible and can get a place.

Not necessarily true. Salaried places pay about 18k, but are taxed.

I got 4k bursary from gorvernment, 4k bursary from my university partner, 4k maintenance grant and about 3,500 maintenance loan, plus a loan paid my fees.