The Student Room Group

Costs of learning driving

Hi all,

I'm an international student who most likely is going to be studying in the UK this year. I'm thinking about learning driving in the UK.

How much do lessons usually cost? How many lessons do you need before you can take the practical test? What about the theory test? (And are there standard prices throughout the UK?)
Reply 1
How much do lessons usually cost?
They range between different instructors, typically from £20 to £24 an hour, most instructors also do discounts for block booking hours in advance.

How many lessons do you need before you take the practical test?
There's no legal minimum requirement, you can just book your test when your instructor thinks you're ready.

What about the theory test?
The theory test is £25 and the price is standard across the UK as you can book it online here: https://www.gov.uk/book-theory-test
Reply 2
I spent around £800-900 on driving lessons. I took 34 lessons I think. The number of lessons needed varies from one person to the next.

Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 9 years ago)
Original post by verityvirtue
Hi all,

I'm an international student who most likely is going to be studying in the UK this year. I'm thinking about learning driving in the UK.

How much do lessons usually cost? How many lessons do you need before you can take the practical test? What about the theory test? (And are there standard prices throughout the UK?)

Most independent instructors up here (North West) charge £20 per hour - you can get small discounts for block booking (mine was only a 5% discount). National driving schools - such as AA - usually charge in the region of £25 per hour. Go for an independent, if you find a decent one then you'll pass in no time (and you'll save a lot of money).