The Student Room Group

an early bird in need of guidance!!

well im currently a first year law student at the university in edinburgh. I cringe at the thought of practicing law, but LOVE the thought of going into academia. i would definitly want to do an LLM right after finishing (and hopefully a PhD after that)... would want to do it at either Oxford cambridge or LSE...so i had a few Questions

1) is there anything besides top grades that i can do to boost my chances at a top uni for a masters?
2) whats a masters like in law or in general?
3) im poor, so where can i get funding? btw im an intl student from turkey.
Reply 1
I can't really help with the last 2, but as for the first one, I'd say the top 3 things you can do are:

a) try and subscribe to a leading journal in your field (oh yes, and read it :wink: )
b) try and attend external conferences, even if they're only external seminars being held at your uni (e.g. the Classical Association holds seminars here in Exeter on a fairly frequent basis)
c) try and get an article or two published (again, even if it's only in an internal journal produced by your department, that will help)

Having said all that, though, I'm not sure how much all this malarkey helps - I've only just applied, so I suppose I'll see.
Reply 2
i think you need to focus on law things, like joining the law society, voluntering for legal aid (if you can do that so early in your degree?), trying to get work your work experience up as much as possible. There is a girl studying law at bristol who pops into this postgrad section - try going through the old posts about law and finding her name, she seems to know a lot.