The Student Room Group

English Student GDL prospects

Hi guys, I’ve been having something of an existential crisis lately, and decided that what I really want in life is to be a lawyer (probably a solicitor). Problem is, these thoughts have come very late in the game. I’m in my final year studying English Lit at Warwick, and am on track for a first, or at least a high 2:1. Would it be best for me to apply for a GDL now, or to get a shelf-stacking job and try and get some relevant experience so I can get a GDL the following year? I’d really like to move ahead as soon as possible, but with no summer vacation schemes and only next year to sort out training contracts I’m not sure if that’s practical. I have no legal experience except a week in a county court about 6 years ago, so feel like I need some grounding. Any advice would be really appreciated, thank you!
Reply 1
I can borrow money from family, and as I understand it there are some training contracts which retroactively reimburse the fee? That said, I am definitely leaning towards taking a year out to make a bit of cash. I'm just wondering if that's a common choice, and about the sort of things that I could do to help get a contract. I want to use my time wisely. If most city firms only allocate contracts 2 years in advance, wouldn't it be imperative I get a contract in order to prevent having to take another year out in the future?

Also, do firms offer vacation schemes for graduates? Or would it be better to pursue other forms of law experience this year in order to acquire a contract? Sorry about all the questions - it's just rather bewildering!
(edited 9 years ago)